Start Planning

India Bank Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for India and start planning to make the most of your time off. Scroll down to select a year or choose your state.

Choose your state or territory

Andaman and Nicobar Lakshadweep
Andhra Pradesh Madhya Pradesh
Arunachal Pradesh Maharashtra
Assam Manipur
Bihar Meghalaya
Chandigarh Mizoram
Chhattisgarh Nagaland
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Odisha
Daman and Diu Puducherry
Delhi Punjab
Goa Rajasthan
Gujarat Sikkim
Haryana Tamil Nadu
Himachal Pradesh Telangana
Jammu & Kashmir Tripura
Jharkhand Uttar Pradesh
Karnataka Uttarakhand
Kerala West Bengal

The Republic of India has the second largest population in the world. Due to the sizes of the country and its diverse population, India only has three national holidays – Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Ghandi’s Birthday.

However, the government of India has granted each of its states and territories the right to choose holidays based on their religious beliefs, culture, linguistic preferences, or events that are relative to their area – and at a state level there are many more bank holidays recognised and celebrated.

The Labour Laws of India requires that employers provide employees with a paid day off for the three national holidays. If the employee must work, they must be given a paid day off in lieu for the holiday or paid a premium rate for all hours worked on that holiday. Laws regarding holiday pay and time off for state holidays are subjected to the laws in those territories. Holiday pay for state holidays may also be impacted by individual employment contracts.