Start Planning

Chandigarh Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Chandigarh and start planning to make the most of your time off.

Bank holidays in Chandigarh are determined by the Home Department in the Chandigarh Administration. All holidays are determined based on Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. Chandigarh declares all Sundays as holidays as well as every second and fourth Saturday. Other holidays are based on the culture, history and religious beliefs of those who reside in the state.

Some of the holidays are known as gazetted holidays, a term remaining from when the country was ruled by Great Britain. Some of these include Republic Day and Independence Day. Like the rest of the country, Chandigarh requires all banks to be closed for the Annual Closing of Bank Accounts. If a holiday falls on Sunday, it is celebrated on that Sunday as a holiday and may be excluded from the official list of holidays.

Previous Years