Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Telangana Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 Telangana public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

Telangana is located in southern India with its name coming from the Telugu language that was spoken when the area was the princely state of Hyderabad. When Hyderabad was dissolved during a linguistic reorganisation, Telangana was merged with the former Andhra State forming Andhra Pradesh. There were many movements to separate Telangana from Andhra Pradesh and, in 2009, an announcement was made by the Indian government that a Telangana state would be formed. It became an official state in 2014. Hinduism and Islam are the two main religions practiced in Telangana.

The General Administration Department of the Government of Telangana approves holidays each year under the Explanation to Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act 1881. Three holidays are national holidays in India and include Republic Day, Independence Day and the birthday of Mahatma Ghandi.

Other holidays approved by the government are based on the religion and culture of the citizens. Babu Jagjivan Ram, popularly known as Babuji, was a freedom fighter. His birthday is celebrated on May 4 each year as a public holiday. Dr. Bhimrao Ramji Ambedkar, known as Babasaheb, was the principal architect of the Constitution of India. His birthday is a public holiday in Telangana, celebrated on April 14.

Public Holidays 2017

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
13 JanFriBhogi
14 JanSatMakara Sankranti
26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
24 FebFriMaha Shivaratri
12 MarSunDoljatra / Holika Dahan
28 MarTueGudi Padva / Ugadi /
Chetti Chand
4 AprTueRam Navami
5 AprWedBabu Jagjivan Ram's Birthday
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 AprFriDr Ambedkar Jayanti
25 JunSunRatha Yatra
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
27 JunTueRamazan 2nd Day
20 JulThuBonalu
15 AugTueIndependence Day
25 AugFriGanesh Chaturthi /
Vinayaka Chaturthi
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
28 SepThuDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's
19 OctThuDiwali
(Festival of Lights)
3 NovFriKarthika Purnima / Rahasa Purnima
4 NovSatGuru Nanak Jayanti
2 DecSatMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecMonChristmas Day