Start Planning

Kerala Bank Holidays List 2017

Today – 1 May 2017 – is a holiday in Kerala for Labour Day.

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 bank holidays for Kerala. These dates may be modified as official changes are announced, so please check back regularly for updates.

26 JanThuRepublic Day
24 FebFriMaha Shivaratri
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 AprFriDr Ambedkar Jayanti
14 AprFriVishu
16 AprSunEaster Sunday
1 MayMonMay Day
25 JunSunIdul Fitr
26 JunMonIdul Fitr
15 AugTueIndependence Day
2 SepSatIdul Zuha
3 SepSunFirst Onam
4 SepMonThiruvonam
6 SepWedSree Narayana Guru Jayanti
21 SepThuSree Narayana Guru Samadhi
29 SepFriMaha Navami
30 SepSatVijaya Dashami
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's Birthday
18 OctWedDeepavali
2 DecSatMilad un-Nabi
25 DecMonChristmas Day

Visit for the official announcement.

Bank holidays in Kerala are determined by Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act 1881 and are coordinated with the Government of India by the Kerala government. All Sundays are bank holidays in Kerala. Some of the holidays are celebrated throughout India such as Republic Day, Independence Day and Mahatma Ghandi’s birthday. However, other holidays are related to either the Hindu, Muslim or Christian religion. These include Good Friday, Id-ul-Fitr and Thiruvonam.

Holidays that fall on Sunday may be excluded from the official bank holiday list. There are also holidays noted on the official list that may change dates depending on the sighting of the moon as is common for Muslims. The state also celebrates the Annual Closing of Accounts of Commercial and Cooperative Banks.