Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Rajasthan Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 Rajasthan public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

Rajasthan, India’s largest state, is the “Land of Kings.” Located on the northwestern side of India, it is home to the Thar Desert as well as the ruins of the Indus Valley Civilisation, Dilwara Temples and Mount Abu. The state was formed when Rajputana, a name given to the region by the British, merged into India in 1949. Almost 89 percent of the population are Hindu and just over nine percent practice Islam. Public holidays in Rajasthan are related to celebrations of these two religions for the most part, although Christmas Day is considered a holiday in the state.

Public holidays are determined each year by the Government of Rajasthan. Government offices, schools, banks and many businesses are closed on holidays with employees given the day off with pay. Rajasthan celebrates Janmashtami/Sri Krishna Jaynti on the eighth day of the Krishna Paksha. It celebrates the birth of Krishna, a Hindu deity. They also celebrate Murharram, the first month of the Islamic calendar, one of four sacred months in the year for Muslims. The Islamic calendar is based on the moon, so Murharram changes each year.

Rajasthan also celebrates Independence Day, Republic Day and Mahatma Ghandi’s birthday as these are holidays celebrated throughout India.

Public Holidays 2017

5 JanThuGuru Govind Singh Birthday
26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
24 FebFriMaha Shivaratri
12 MarSunDoljatra / Holika Dahan
13 MarMonHoli
28 MarTueGudi Padva / Ugadi /
Chetti Chand
4 AprTueRam Navami
9 AprSunMahavir Jayanti
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 AprFriDr Ambedkar Jayanti
28 MaySunMaharana Pratap
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
7 AugMonRaksha Bandhan
15 AugTueIndependence Day
15 AugTueJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
31 AugThuRamdev Jayanti and Teja Dashmi
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
21 SepThuNavratra Stapana / Navratri Ghatasthapana
28 SepThuDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's
19 OctThuDiwali
(Festival of Lights)
20 OctFriGovardhan Pooja
21 OctSatBhai Duj / Chitragupth Jayanti
4 NovSatGuru Nanak Jayanti
2 DecSatMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecMonChristmas Day
25 DecMonGuru Govind Singh Birthday