Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Lakshadweep Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 Lakshadweep public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

Known for lush green landscapes and white sand beaches, Lakshadweep consists of 36 islands off the coast of Kerala, India. The name of the Union Territory means “a hundred thousand islands” in Sanskrit and Malayalam. Not all of the islands of Lakshadweep are inhabited and few are open to visitors. Those that do allow visitors require permits. The islands are well-known for scuba diving, snorkelling and kayaking with the many coral reefs in the area.

Like other Union Territories in India, Lakshadweep celebrates holidays known as gazetted holidays. These are holidays approved by the Indian government that are celebrated throughout the country. These include Republic Day, Independence Day, Good Friday and Christmas Day. Other holidays are based on religious calendars. Muslim holidays are celebrated around the sighting of the moon and include Baravafat Razab, Ramzan and Moharram.

There are restricted holidays that are approved in Lakshadweep. Employees are permitted to choose two restricted holidays as paid holidays. These include Holi, Pongal, Onam and Parsi New Year’s Day or Nauraj. There are also many festivals throughout Lakshadweep that could lead to the closure of offices, businesses and schools, although they are regional in nature. This means they may not be celebrated throughout the Union Territory.

Public Holidays 2017

26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
15 AugTueIndependence Day
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's