Start Planning

Meghalaya Public Holidays

Discover upcoming public holiday dates for Meghalaya and start planning to make the most of your time off.

Like many states in India, bank holidays are approved on an annual basis by the Government of Meghalaya. Holidays are divided into three lists known as Annexures. Annexure I lists holidays where the government, courts and schools are closed. These include Republic Day, Holi and Maha Navami. Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day and December 27 are all holidays, celebrated as Christmas Festival.

Annexure II lists Restricted Holidays and employees are permitted to choose two as paid holidays during the year. In addition, the government permits local Deputy Commissioners to declare a maximum of three local holidays within their jurisdiction, except the East Khasi Hills District as the state declares local holidays in that area.

Annexure III lists holidays conferred under Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. These holidays include Beh Deinkhlam, Kali Puja and Wangala Festival. The Yearly Closing of Bank Account holiday is meant for banks only.

Previous Years