Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning

Public Holidays

Haryana Public Holidays 2016 and 2017

We currently have public holidays for 2016 and 2017 listed. Scroll down to view.

Haryana is one of the most economically developed areas in South Asia with many agricultural and manufacturing industries. It was created from East Punjab in 1966 and is bordered by Punjab as well as Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan and the Yumana River. More than 87 percent of the country practices the Hindu religion while just over seven percent are Muslim and just under five percent practice Sikhism.

Public holidays in Haryana are approved by the General Administration Department of the Haryana Government. All Saturdays and Sundays are considered holidays in Haryana. Despite the fact that a very small percentage of the population is Christian, Christmas Day is a public holiday. On Schedule I holidays, which include Christmas as well as Republic Day and Haryana Day, all government offices are closed. On Schedule II holidays, employees may choose two as paid holidays. These include Guru Gobind Singh’s birthday, Good Friday and Karwa Chauth. On Schedule III holidays, commercial businesses may also close in Haryana. These holidays include Holi, Janmashtami and the Annual Closing of Bank Accounts.

On public holidays, many festivals, parades and celebrations take place. Many of the celebrations include cultural and historical activities designed to keep the Haryana culture alive.

Public Holidays 2016

This list has now been updated to reflect the official dates released by the Haryana government.

26 JanTueRepublic Day
(National Day)
12 FebFriSir Chhotu Ram Jayanti
12 FebFriBasant Panchami / Sri Panchami
22 FebMonGuru Ravidas Jayanti
4 MarFriMaharshi Dayanand Sarswati
7 MarMonMaha Shivaratri
23 MarWedShaheedi Diwas of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhedev
24 MarThuHoli
13 AprWedVaisakh / Baisakhi /
14 AprThuDr Ambedkar Jayanti
15 AprFriRam Navami
20 AprWedMahavir Jayanti
9 MayMonLord Parshu Ram Jayanti
21 MaySatBuddha Purnima
7 JunTueMaharana Pratap
20 JunMonSant Kabir Jayanti
6 JulWedRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
31 JulSunShaheed Udham Singh's Martyrdom Day
5 AugFriHaryali Teej
15 AugMonIndependence Day
25 AugThuJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
12 SepMonBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
23 SepFriHaryana's Heroes'
Martyrdom Day
1 OctSatMaharaja Agrasen Jayanti
2 OctSunMahatma Gandhi's
11 OctTueDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
12 OctWedMuharram
16 OctSunMaharishi Valmiki's Birthday
30 OctSunDiwali
(Festival of Lights)
1 NovTueHaryana Day
1 NovTueVishavakarma Day
6 NovSunChhath Puja
14 NovMonGuru Nanak Jayanti
13 DecTueMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecSunChristmas Day
26 DecMonShaheed Udham Singh'

Public Holidays 2017

The dates below are not official. We will update this page as soon as the dates are released by the Haryana government.

26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
1 FebWedBasant Panchami / Sri Panchami
10 FebFriGuru Ravidas Jayanti
12 FebSunSir Chhotu Ram Jayanti
21 FebTueMaharshi Dayanand Sarswati Jayanti
24 FebFriMaha Shivaratri
13 MarMonHoli
23 MarThuShaheedi Diwas of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhedev
4 AprTueRam Navami
9 AprSunMahavir Jayanti
13 AprThuVaisakh / Baisakhi /
14 AprFriDr Ambedkar Jayanti
28 AprFriMaharshi Parasuram
10 MayWedBuddha Purnima
28 MaySunMaharana Pratap
9 JunFriSant Guru Kabir Jayanti
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
26 JulWedHaryali Teej
31 JulMonShaheed Udham Singh's Martyrdom Day
15 AugTueIndependence Day
15 AugTueJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
21 SepThuMaharaja Agrasen Jayanti
23 SepSatHaryana Veer and Shahidi Divas
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's
19 OctThuDiwali
(Festival of Lights)
1 NovWedHaryana Day
4 NovSatGuru Nanak Jayanti
2 DecSatMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecMonChristmas Day