Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Public Holidays

Orissa Public Holidays 2017

This page contains a calendar of all 2017 Orissa public holidays. Please scroll down to view.

Odisha, formerly known as Orissa, is located on the East Coast of India. It has been called the Soul of India with ancient temples surrounded by modern high rises. There are many wildlife sanctuaries and inspiring monuments throughout the state. The name of the state was changed in 2011 as an effort to correct the names of cities and towns throughout India that had been named differently while the country was under British rule.

Public holidays in Odisha are approved by the government each year and are based on the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. There are holidays that are celebrated throughout India, including Republic Day, Independence Day and the birthday of Mahatma Ghandi. In addition, government offices, schools and businesses may close on Good Friday, Holi, Janmasthami and Kalipuja.

Sundays are working days for banks in India. Therefore, if a holiday falls on a Sunday, the government allows banks to close for the holiday, even though they are normally required to work on Sunday. The government specifies the Sunday holidays in a separate list each year to avoid confusion.

April 1 is a public holiday known as the Annual Closing of Bank Account. All banks are closed on this date, although other businesses may remain open.

Public Holidays 2017

23 JanMonNetaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanati
26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
1 FebWedBasant Panchami / Sri Panchami
24 FebFriMaha Shivaratri
5 MarSunPanchayati Raj Divas
12 MarSunDoljatra / Holika Dahan
13 MarMonHoli
1 AprSatOdisha Day / Utkal Dibas
4 AprTueRam Navami
13 AprThuMaha Vishuba Sankranti
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 JunWedPahaliraja
15 JunThuRaja Sankranti
25 JunSunRatha Yatra
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 AugTueIndependence Day
15 AugTueJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
25 AugFriGanesh Chaturthi /
Vinayaka Chaturthi
26 AugSatNuakhai
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
20 SepWedMahalaya Amavasye
27 SepWedDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Saptami)
28 SepThuDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
29 SepFriDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's
5 OctThuLakshmi Puja
18 OctWedNaraka Chaturdashi / Kali Puja
19 OctThuDiwali
(Festival of Lights)
3 NovFriKarthika Purnima / Rahasa Purnima
2 DecSatMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecMonChristmas Day