Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
West Bengal

Public Holidays

West Bengal Public Holidays 2016 and 2017

We currently have public holidays for 2016 and 2017 listed. Scroll down to view.

Located between the Himalayas and the Bay of Bengal, West Bengal contains architectural remnants of the East India Company culture. The capital is Kolkata, formerly known as Calcutta. It is religiously diverse, although Hinduism is the most practiced religion. Many of the public holidays celebrated in West Bengal are related to religious and cultural beliefs.

Public holidays are approved by the Government of West Bengal Finance Department under Section 25 of the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. Sundays are holidays under the Negotiable Instrument Act as well. If a holiday falls on a Sunday, they are not listed as a public holiday. There are holidays in West Bengal when only banks are closed.

Government offices are closed on certain holidays each year, including the birthday of the Poet Bhanu Bhakt and Bhatridwitiya. Banks are closed on the Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts on April 1 each year as well. Independence Day, Republic Day and the birthday of Mahatma Ghandi are celebrated throughout India as national holidays. Government employees are permitted to choose two restricted holidays each year in addition to public holidays. These may include Easter Sunday, Baisakhi or Sab-e-Barat. Because many Muslim holidays are based on the sighting of the moon, dates may change from the officially released public holidays. If this should happen, the date changes are announced under separate order.

Public Holidays 2016

This list has now been updated to reflect the official dates released by the West Bengal government.

12 JanTueBirthday of Swami Vivekananda
23 JanSatNetaji's Birthday
26 JanTueRepublic Day
(National Day)
12 FebFriBasant Panchami / Sri Panchami
23 MarWedDoljatra / Holika Dahan
25 MarFriGood Friday
14 AprThuDr Ambedkar Jayanti
1 MaySunMay Day
8 MaySunGuru Rabindranath's Birthday
6 JulWedRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 AugMonIndependence Day
12 SepMonBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
30 SepFriMahalaya Amavasye
2 OctSunMahatma Gandhi's
8 OctSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Saptami)
9 OctSunDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
10 OctMonDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
11 OctTueDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
12 OctWedMuharram
15 OctSatLakshmi Puja
29 OctSatKali Puja
14 NovMonGuru Nanak Jayanti
25 DecSunChristmas Day

Public Holidays 2017

The dates below are not official. We will update this page as soon as the dates are released by the West Bengal government.

12 JanThuBirthday of Swami Vivekananda
23 JanMonNetaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanati
26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
1 FebWedBasant Panchami / Sri Panchami
12 MarSunDoljatra / Holika Dahan
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 AprFriDr Ambedkar Jayanti
14 AprFriBengali New Year's Day
1 MayMonMay Day
8 MayMonGuru Rabindranath's Birthday
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 AugTueIndependence Day
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
27 SepWedDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Saptami)
28 SepThuDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Asthami)
29 SepFriDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's
5 OctThuLakshmi Puja
18 OctWedNaraka Chaturdashi / Kali Puja
4 NovSatGuru Nanak Jayanti
25 DecMonChristmas Day