Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning

Public Holidays

Uttarakhand Public Holidays 2016 and 2017

We currently have public holidays for 2016 and 2017 listed. Scroll down to view.

Uttarakhand, known for its sites devoted to Hindu pilgrimage, is a major centre for the study of yoga. It was made famous around the world when the Beatles visited there in 1968. It is often called “Land of the Gods,” due to its natural beauty and the many Hindu temples throughout the area. Almost 83 percent of the population is Hindu and just under 14 percent practice Islam. Public holidays, which are approved by the Uttarakhand government each year, are a combination of religious celebrations and commemorations of cultural or historical events.

Like many states in India, Uttarakhand separates public holidays into categories. All government offices, banks, schools and many businesses are closed on gazetted holidays, including Holi, Good Friday and Christmas. Employees are permitted to choose two from the list of restricted holidays. Restricted holidays include New Year’s Day, Pongal and Easter Sunday.

Republic Day, Independence Day and the birthday of Mahatma Ghandi are gazetted holidays. These holidays are celebrated throughout India and are in recognition of events that helped India win its independence from other countries, including Britain. Mahatma Ghandi is considered the father of India due to his fight to create an independent country for his homeland. People throughout India celebrate his birthday as an homage to him.

Public Holidays 2016

This list has now been updated to reflect the official dates released by the Uttarakhand government.

26 JanTueRepublic Day
(National Day)
7 MarMonMaha Shivaratri
23 MarWedDoljatra / Holika Dahan
24 MarThuHoli
25 MarFriGood Friday
14 AprThuDr Ambedkar Jayanti
15 AprFriRam Navami
21 MaySatBuddha Purnima
6 JulWedRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 AugMonIndependence Day
18 AugThuRaksha Bandhan
25 AugThuJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
12 SepMonBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
2 OctSunMahatma Gandhi's
11 OctTueDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
30 OctSunDiwali
(Festival of Lights)
31 OctMonBalipadyami Diwali
1 NovTueBhaubeej / Yam Dwitya
14 NovMonGuru Nanak Jayanti
12 DecMonMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecSunChristmas Day

Public Holidays 2017

The dates below are not official. We will update this page as soon as the dates are released by the Uttarakhand government.

26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
24 FebFriMaha Shivaratri
12 MarSunDoljatra / Holika Dahan
13 MarMonHoli
4 AprTueRam Navami
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 AprFriDr Ambedkar Jayanti
10 MayWedBuddha Purnima
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
7 AugMonRaksha Bandhan
15 AugTueIndependence Day
15 AugTueJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's
19 OctThuDiwali
(Festival of Lights)
20 OctFriBalipadyami Diwali
21 OctSatBhai Duj / Chitragupth Jayanti
4 NovSatGuru Nanak Jayanti
2 DecSatMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecMonChristmas Day