Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Uttar Pradesh

Public Holidays

Uttar Pradesh Public Holidays 2016 and 2017

We currently have public holidays for 2016 and 2017 listed. Scroll down to view.

Created as the United Provinces in 1937 under British Rule, Uttar Pradesh was renamed in 1950. It is the location of the world-renowned Taj Mahal, a mausoleum built in honour of Mumtaz Mahal, the wife of Shah Jahan, who died in childbirth. The state is almost 80 percent Hindu and just over 19 percent Muslim. Sikhs, Jains, Christians and Buddhists make up the rest of the religious groups in Uttar Pradesh.

Public holidays in Uttar Pradesh are approved by the government and many of those approved are related to the religions found in the state. Republic Day, Independence Day and the birthday of Mahatma Ghandi are celebrated throughout India. Other public holidays are in honour of freedom fighters and prophets that are revered in Uttar Pradesh. Good Friday and Christmas Day are also celebrated as public holidays.

One public holiday celebrated in Uttar Pradesh is the birthday of Hazrat Ali, a religious dignitary who was said to be blessed by the Prophet Mohammad. On his birthday, Muslims in the Chishti community offer respect to him, considering him a Sufi saint. People celebrate by offering prayers seeking his blessing. Mosques also hold ceremonies for those who wish to recognize his great sacrifice.

Public Holidays 2016

This list has now been updated to reflect the official dates released by the Uttar Pradesh government.

26 JanTueRepublic Day
(National Day)
7 MarMonMaha Shivaratri
23 MarWedDoljatra / Holika Dahan
24 MarThuHoli
25 MarFriGood Friday
14 AprThuDr Ambedkar Jayanti
15 AprFriRam Navami
20 AprWedMahavir Jayanti
21 AprThuHazrat Alis Birthday
21 MaySatBuddha Purnima
6 JulWedRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 AugMonIndependence Day
18 AugThuRaksha Bandhan
25 AugThuJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
12 SepMonBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
2 OctSunMahatma Gandhi's
10 OctMonDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
11 OctTueDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
12 OctWedMuharram
30 OctSunDiwali
(Festival of Lights)
31 OctMonBalipadyami Diwali
1 NovTueBhaubeej / Yam Dwitya
14 NovMonGuru Nanak Jayanti
12 DecMonMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecSunChristmas Day

Public Holidays 2017

The dates below are not official. We will update this page as soon as the dates are released by the Uttar Pradesh government.

26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
24 FebFriMaha Shivaratri
12 MarSunDoljatra / Holika Dahan
13 MarMonHoli
4 AprTueRam Navami
9 AprSunMahavir Jayanti
11 AprTueHazrat Alis Birthday
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 AprFriDr Ambedkar Jayanti
9 MayTueLok Nayak Maharana Pratap Jayanti
10 MayWedBuddha Purnima
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
7 AugMonRaksha Bandhan
15 AugTueIndependence Day
15 AugTueJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
29 SepFriDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's
19 OctThuDiwali
(Festival of Lights)
20 OctFriBalipadyami Diwali
21 OctSatBhai Duj / Chitragupth Jayanti
3 NovFriKarthika Purnima / Rahasa Purnima
4 NovSatGuru Nanak Jayanti
2 DecSatMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecMonChristmas Day