Make the most of your public holidays with us!
Start Planning
Tamil Nadu

Public Holidays

Tamil Nadu Public Holidays 2016 and 2017

We currently have public holidays for 2016 and 2017 listed. Scroll down to view.

Under the Negotiable Instruments Act 1881, Section 25, the Tamil Nadu government can approve public holidays each year. Tamil Nadu leaders work in conjunction with the Government of India to create public holidays that allow employees paid time from work in order to celebrate. On these days, banks, offices, schools and many businesses are closed.

Tamil Nadu recognises New Year’s Day, Good Friday and Christmas Day as public holidays. Independence Day, Republic Day and the birthday of Mahatma Ghandi are also public holidays in Tamil Nadu as these are holidays that are recognised throughout India. Other holidays are related to the culture and religions of the residents of Tamil Nadu.

Tamil Nadu lies on the southern part of the Indian Peninsula and has the highest number of business enterprises. Hinduism is the most practiced religion with almost 88 percent of the population claiming to be Hindu. For this reason, some of the holidays approved by the government are related to Hindu beliefs, although there are holidays related to the Muslim faith that are approved by the government as well.

On April 1, the government declares the Annual Closing of Accounts for Banks as a public holiday. This holiday applies to commercial and cooperative banks in Tamil Nadu.

Public Holidays 2016

This list has now been updated to reflect the official dates released by the Tamil Nadu government.

1 JanFriNew Year's Day
15 JanFriPongal
16 JanSatThiruvalluvar Day
17 JanSunUzhavar Thirunal
26 JanTueRepublic Day
(National Day)
25 MarFriGood Friday
8 AprFriTelugu New Year
14 AprThuTamil New Year
14 AprThuDr Ambedkar Jayanti
19 AprTueMahavir Jayanti
1 MaySunMay Day
16 MayMonTamil Nadu Assembly Polls
6 JulWedRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 AugMonIndependence Day
25 AugThuJanmashtami / Sri Krishna Jayanti
5 SepMonGanesh Chaturthi /
Vinayaka Chaturthi
12 SepMonBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
2 OctSunMahatma Gandhi's
10 OctMonAyutha Pooja
11 OctTueDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
12 OctWedMuharram
29 OctSatDeepavali
(Festival of Lights)
12 DecMonMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecSunChristmas Day

Public Holidays 2017

The dates below are not official. We will update this page as soon as the dates are released by the Tamil Nadu government.

1 JanSunNew Year's Day
14 JanSatPongal
15 JanSunThiruvalluvar Day
16 JanMonUzhavar Thirunal
26 JanThuRepublic Day
(National Day)
29 MarWedTelugu New Year
9 AprSunMahavir Jayanti
14 AprFriGood Friday
14 AprFriDr Ambedkar Jayanti
14 AprFriTamil New Year
1 MayMonMay Day
26 JunMonRamazan / Idu'l Fitr
(End of Ramadan) *
15 AugTueIndependence Day
25 AugFriGanesh Chaturthi /
Vinayaka Chaturthi
2 SepSatBakri Id / Idu'l Zuha
(Feast of Sacrifice)
29 SepFriDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Maha Navami)
30 SepSatDurga Puja / Dussehra
(Vijaya Dashami)
1 OctSunMuharram
2 OctMonMahatma Gandhi's
18 OctWedDeepavali
(Festival of Lights)
2 DecSatMilad-un-Nabi
(Prophet's Birthday)
25 DecMonChristmas Day